Preview The Evil Within – First Impressions

Written by Twisted Ideas

theevilwithinscreamingguy

FanExpo Canada is happening this weekend in Toronto. I didn’t look at too many game related things on Friday due to shopping for comic books and art work. I was walking around the game section scouting the booth’s and I then I saw that there was a playable demo for The Evil Within. When I stepped in the line I was the third one in and this was in the afternoon too.

For the uninformed, The Evil Within is a new survival horror game IP by Shinji Mikami, the creator of Resident Evil. Personally I don’t know much about the game or its premise so I’ll go through what I played in the demo.

I started at the beginning of chapter 9 of the game. I have little to no context at this point but I started by entering a mansion. We see a doctor carry what seems to be a patient away and a large door closed behind them that needed to be opened. Unaware of what was waiting for me, I accumulated myself to the controls. This is an over the shoulder third person game. It looks like how Resident Evil 4 was but you have better freedom of movement. Shooting is similar but you have a limited stamina meter for sprinting, ammo and a lantern that you can turn on and off.

After encountering what seemed to be a ghost who hurt me badly when he was in reach, I fought two of the enemies. They are insane looking people with parts of their faces covered in blades or needles and stuff function with parts of their head missing. Headshots didn’t immediately keep them down and I couldn’t fight reliably punch and kick them to death. I started to realize that you could hide yourself. Ammo is very limited and so is health. After I explored the next rooms I heard an enemy enter a nearby room. I hid in a closet and could watch where he was. Then I realized that I had no idea what to do afterwards. He wasn’t leaving but I didn’t know if I could quick kill or anything. He was always going to be in front of the door so I just fought him normally. I noticed bottles that you could pick up and through but unfortunately that didn’t work out. After accomplishing a few things and brute forcing a puzzles, I died in an explosive trap that I didn’t move away from quickly enough.

My takeaway from this demo is that the game not what I expected it to be. I expected this to be a more atmospheric version of Resident Evil 4, with a lot of action and more horror infused. What I experienced was kinda the opposite. The is a game with shooting and action. The difference is that in the long run you are not in a winning situation. Ammo and health is limited and you have enemies appear out of the blue. Imagine The Last of Us where you had to get through an area but the rooms would keep bringing in more clickers but they don’t kill you as easily but the don’t die as easily. That’s what this was. It seemed to recommend stealth to get around enemies. You probably could have fought each one you encountered but it seemed smarted to collect ammo and items for the right opportunities.

The Evil Within surprised me. It’s a mix of the Resident Evil REmake, Clock Tower, The Last of Us and probably some horror moves that I haven’t seen. I initially thought that this was a next-gen exclusive but it will appear on PS3 and Xbox 360 too. There were demos of Far Cry 4 and Assassin’s Creed Unity and I believe Sunset Overdrive but I’ll see what I’ll try out for the rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

